Some surprising information

I’ve been doing some research on PCOS and the Metformin that I’ve been taking for the past few days. I came across this information about a link between PCOS and miscarriage….

Women with Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome typically have a higher rate of miscarriage than those who do not suffer from PCOS. Miscarriage is defined as the spontaneous ending of a pregnancy before its 24th week. Some studies show that the rate of miscarriage in women with Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome is as much as 50%, as compared to the national average of 15%.

I had no idea that the chances for a miscarriage increases so much for women with PCOS as compared to women who don’t suffer from it. This makes me think that my miscarriage could have been prevented with treatment. I guess it’s not good to dwell on things that didn’t happen but it makes me wonder.

This is my 3rd day of taking the Metformin. I definitely have been experiencing some of the side effects that the doctor warned me about. My blood sugar drops soon after taking it but I’ve been able to control it by eating a fruit popsicle. My stomach has also not felt the greatest either so it should be interesting to see what happens when I up the dosage to two pills a day.

Leave a Reply

