What is going on here?

I thought I was on my way to getting an appointment with the RE on post when Tricare approved the referral a little over 3 weeks ago. Boy was I wrong. I called the clinic 3 weeks ago to try and make an appointment. The receptionist transferred me back to infertility and all I got was voicemail. I left a message and figured I would hear back in a few days. Nothing. I called again, left another message, and waited again. Still nothing. After a week of no response, I decided to take the next step and go to the clinic to find out what was going on. The receptionist went back to talk to the woman who is in charge of making appointments and I was told that I was on a waiting list to be called back because the office was receiving many infertility referrals. Understandable. I know that the post has a lot of new soldiers coming in and a lot of units just came back from deployment. I waited another week and still no phone call. Frustration set in yesterday and I was advised by a friend to call a patient advocate. I called after the gym yesterday morning and spoke to a nice woman who told me that she would definitely get someone from the clinic to call me back after lunch. I was doubtful that the call would come but lo and behold, my phone rang around 1 PM. Unfortunately for me, the woman from the clinic was very rude with me. She told me that I was told the previous week that I was put on an appointment waiting list and wouldn’t be called for at least 30 to 45 days. I told her that I was told by the receptionist that I was on a list to be called back about an appointment and I thought that it was strange that no one had called back. I also expressed concern that my referral would expire because Tricare only gives you 28 days to make the appointment. She said that the referral didn’t matter and that she would only call back when an appointment slot opens up. I’m so confused about this whole thing. Doesn’t the clinic make appointments in advance like a normal office? Time is running short before deployment happens and right now it looks like I won’t be seen until mid – November to early December. I’m totally stressing out about this!

One thought on “What is going on here?

  1. Jen

    Hi! I'm new to your blog. I can relate to the frustration with getting an appt we are also stationed at Bragg and going through the infertility process. If you have an questions let me know! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

