Pumpkin carving and more

I haven’t blogged in about a week because we’ve been busy getting Evan ready to head off for a month of training. He’s leaving this weekend so I guess I’ll have plenty of spare time to blog. Last weekend we decided that it was time to carve our pumpkins that we picked from the farm the previous weekend. I was so excited because it was my first time ever carving a pumpkin. I’m 27 but I’ve never carved a pumpkin. Insane, I know. I think Evan’s turned out better than mine but he insists that mine was good for my first try. I’m excited to light them up tonight for our trick-or-treaters. I do wish that Evan was going to be here to hand out candy with me but at least I have the dogs to keep me company (as long as they don’t bark every time the doorbell rings).

(Evan carving his pumpkin)

(Mine on the left; Evan’s on the right)

(Pumpkins lit outside)

Also this week, I got to meet with the dean of the education department at the local college to discuss which classes from Georgia would transfer. She informed me that the school just changed the curriculum and some classes that should have transferred weren’t offered anymore. Evan and I made the decision that I should just pursue my teaching certification online. I applied this week and will be starting school at the beginning of January. I can’t wait!

We decided to take it easy last night so I decided to make some pumpkin chocolate chip cookies for Evan and his guys. They turned out fantastic! Here’s a picture and the recipe. They’re moist and delicious!

Ingredients

2 1/2 cups flour
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp nutmeg
1 1/2 cups sugar
1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce
1 egg
1/2 tsp vanilla
1/2 (15oz) can pumpkin puree
6 oz. chocolate chips

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Combine flour, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon and nutmeg in a bowl. Combine sugar, applesauce, egg, and vanilla in a separate bowl. Add pumpkin and dry ingredients alternately to the wet ingredients. Fold in chocolate chips. Use a tablespoon to drop cookies onto a baking sheet. Bake for 10 minutes.

Hope everyone has a great Halloween!

Leave a Reply

