12 Days of Christmas Blog Challenge – Day 1

I decided to take part in the 12 Days of Christmas Blog Challenge brought to you by Aly over at analyze this. Here are a list of the topics for the challenge if you’d like to participate too!

Start Date: Monday, November 22nd
{Topics}

Day 1: Christmas/Holiday traditions
Day 2: Black Friday/General Shopping Tips & Tricks
Day 3: Most meaningful gift/best gift you’ve received
Day 4: Tips/Tricks to a Budget Friendly holiday season
Day 5: Favorite Holiday Movie/TV Show Special
Day 6: Gift ideas (what do YOU want? We all have family/friends reading our blogs…so let them know!)
Day 7: Holiday Craft/DIY (If you don’t make anything, what do you WISH you could make?)
Day 8: Least favorite thing about the Holidays
Day 9: Favorite Holiday recipe
Day 10: Favorite Christmas Songs/Caroles
Day 11: New Year Resolutions
Day 12: Show us your decorations (indoor/outdoor)
Day 13: Favorite Cookie Recipe
Day 14: Oprah’s Favorite Things: What item(s) would you want if you were in the audience?
Come back on Monday to link up! I hope you all join in! We are giving you a sneak peek so you can start getting prepared!
Days 1 -3 are November 22 – 24
**** NO BLOG CHALLENGE ON Thanksgiving! ****
Day 4 will pick back up on November 26th!!
Day 1 – Christmas/Holiday traditions
When I was younger, my family had many traditions that I enjoyed partaking in every year. My mom would start decorating the house for the holidays the day after Thanksgiving. I loved seeing the lights, garland, candy canes and little trinkets come out of storage to be displayed for a whole month. My favorite decoration to put out was our nativity scene. I loved to take out each figurine and place them in their spot to set the Christmas scene.
My mom also put out an advent tree each year. Each day, my younger brother and I would take turns placing one ornament on the little Christmas tree. We got more and more excited each day because we knew it was one day closer to Christmas day. Every weekend leading up to Christmas, I would help my mom in the kitchen. We would bake butter cookies, chocolate chop cookies, pound cakes and applesauce cakes. I loved sneaking a little bit of cake or cookie batter out of the bowl when my mom wasn’t looking!
Another important tradition was decorating our tree. Most people put their trees up in early December, but we would wait until after church on Christmas Eve to decorate ours. My dad would string the lights, my mom would take each ornament out of it’s box and my brother and I would decide on the perfect place to hang each one. After the tree was finished, we would hang our stockings, put out a few cookies and a glass of milk for Santa and head off to bed.
Christmas was so fun when I was younger! Now that I have started my own family, we have started our own holiday traditions. I have continued the baking tradition that my mom started. I bake cookies and make fudge or spiced nuts for my family as well as Evan’s. This year I’ll be adding chocolate dipped pretzels to my arsenal of Christmas goodies. We decorate our tree a few days after Thanksgiving so we have a month to enjoy it before heading home for the holidays. No matter where we are stationed, we make it home to PA to celebrate with both sides of the family. This year we will be spending Christmas Eve and Christmas with my in-laws, then spending the next few days with my family.
I can’t wait until we have children so we can continue our traditions with them and also start some new ones!

5 thoughts on “12 Days of Christmas Blog Challenge – Day 1

  1. plantingapumpkinpatch

    Hppy ICLW and thanks so much for your comment! I love hearing about people's winter holiday traditions; thanks so much for sharing yours! And it will be so much fun to make your own new ones when you have kids of your own. Happy everything!Take care,lady pumpkinICLW #16

    Reply

Leave a Reply

