12 Days of Christmas Blog Challenge – Day 2

The topic of day 2 is : Black Friday/General Shopping Tips and Tricks

Do you know where I’ll be at 4 AM on Friday? That’s right, I’ll be in my nice, warm bed cuddled up next to my husband and 2 dogs who feel like they have the right to take up the WHOLE bed. I refuse to go shopping on Black Friday for many reasons.
1. I worked in retail for almost 10 years and you bet I worked every Black Friday because that’s just how it is in the retail world. Shoppers are crazy! The lines are never-ending, people are rude and impatient and I’ve witnessed fights over merchandise.
2. Who wants to get up at 2 or 3 AM just to wait out in the freezing cold for hours on end? No discount is worth it for me.
3. I hate crowds. I avoid the commissary, PX, restaurants and the mall like the plague on payday because of overcrowding, so why would I subject myself to the overcrowded stores on Black Friday?
Obviously I have some valid reasons for not wanting to leave my bed to score a few deals on Black Friday. However, other people may also have their own valid reasons for wanting to subject themselves to the crowds, traffic and stress. More power to them if they can deal with it all.
Now I’m not a big shopper but I’ll offer a few shopping tips for this holiday season.
Tip #1. I always go into a store with a list. I go in knowing what I’m looking for, so that saves a lot of time. If I don’t go in with a game plan, 9 times out of 10, I leave the store forgetting something. I also hate wasting time. Lists help me focus on what I came into the store for. They also help me save a little money on impulse buys 🙂
Tip #2. Check out deals online especially on cyber Monday. You’d be surprised on how much money you can save on things like electronics. I’m hoping to save a few bucks on a Kindle this year for Evan.
If you’re one of those brave souls who is willing to battle it out on Black Friday – good luck and enjoy your shopping!
3 thoughts on “12 Days of Christmas Blog Challenge – Day 2

  1. I'm just a girl

    I went for the first time last year. I was so excited. I made little index cards for each place I was going. There was only really one "great deal" that I wanted to get but I overslept and didn't even end up going to that store because the line was ridiculously long when I got there. Instead, I just spend the entire day going around and buying practically every Christmas present I needed for the year. I thought it was a fun environment & I enjoyed getting everything done in one day. I think I was probably late enough getting places that I didn't have to worry about any fights or pushing…just long lines but that was okay because it gave me time to regroup & plan where I was going next. I was extremely exhausted by the end of the day & my entire body was in pain! I'm going again this year with a friend. Neither of us have anything we really want to get. We are just going to go.

    Reply
  2. Randi

    Here from ICLW 🙂 I HATE black friday – only once in a very desperate year did I go out then to buy things. I parked closest to the store I need and I got in and out. Best wishes to you and your husband in your TTC efforts.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

