Spin-a-thon Saturday and other activities

Spin-a-what? Spin-a-thon basically was 3 hours of spinning class. 4 instructors, 45 minutes each. I didn’t intend on staying for the whole event but by the time I got halfway through, I figured I might as well stay and finish what I started. We did jumps, hill climbs, sprints, and anything else the instructors could think of. I was a sweaty mess by the end of it and I know my legs will be yelling back at me tomorrow, but I felt good doing it. Who knew that I could be an endurance athlete? I hope they decide to offer this again because I will definitely be back for another butt kicking!

More importantly, I made it up and back to see Evan in one piece. I had to drive home in a pretty heavy snowstorm yesterday but it was definitely worth all the driving. He’s only been gone for 2 weeks but I missed the heck out of him. He won’t be coming home until next weekend and I already can’t wait to see him. I don’t know how I’m going to manage this deployment. I don’t even want to think about. I hope our traveling paid off. My chart looks good but that unfortunately doesn’t mean anything. Keep those prayers coming for a BFP! I know I’m praying and praying and praying every day for this to finally be our month.
I don’t really have any other exciting plans for the weekend. Tomorrow starts my final week of Biology and Biology Lab. The class has been a lot of work and I’m so glad that it’s almost finished. I’ll have one week off and then I start my next undergraduate class – Geography. I hope the workload is less than Biology because I have so much to do for my education classes. Classroom observations start soon so I’m going to have even less free time than before. I have to complete 28 hours – hoping to be able to split it up over 5 or 6 days to get it out of the way. I’d rather spend longer days in the classroom to get it finished faster. I suppose I should stop the procrastinating and get back to homework. The discussion boards await me.
5 thoughts on “Spin-a-thon Saturday and other activities

  1. Brittany

    Hey Lauren! Thanks for the comment on my blog! Us IF's need to stick together, and it's great that you are here in NC, too. I will definitely keep following and I can't wait to get to know you more 🙂

    Reply
  2. Mrs. H

    WOW. I can't get past the spin-a-thon! I think the 1-hr class is rough enough in comparison to the regular 45-min class (yeah, 15 extra mins is a long time) – can't imagine 3 whole hours! Then again, you're right. Your body will surprise you!What gym do you go to?

    Reply
  3. Lauren

    I spin at Towle Courts on post but also go to the gym on Pope on the weekends. It was definitely challenging but a great workout at the same time! Do you go on or off post?

    Reply
  4. Mrs. H

    Oh okay! I go to the HealthPlex. Since I work at the hospital, I get a discount there and I absolutely love the facility! I like the crowd, too. It's generally older people. I hate meat markets and I've been told that's how a lot of the gyms on post are. What's your take on them?! LOL!

    Reply
  5. Lauren

    Towle isn't too bad because it's only used for fitness classes. It doesn't have cardio equipment or free weights. Pope is another story though. I usually head in there for a short cardio session and avoid the weight room entirely. That's nice that you get a discount at your gym. I'd definitely consider going off post if memberships weren't so expensive.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

