Some inspiration

I was talking to a friend yesterday who just announced that she’s 12 weeks pregnant. Totally jealous but definitely happy for her. Anyway, she told me that she recently started to say a prayer to St. Gerard to help her achieve pregnancy. I wanted to find out some more information on him. St. Gerard is the patron saint of expectant mothers (Patron saints exist in the Catholic Church). He is considered to be the patron saint of expectant mothers because a miracle was performed through his prayers for a woman in labor. I found a prayer that is written to him.

O Great Saint Gerard, beloved servant of Jesus Christ, perfect imitator of your meek and humble Savior, and devoted Child of the Mother of God: enkindle within my heart one spark of that heavenly fire of charity which glowed in your heart and made you an angel of love. O glorious Saint Gerard, because when falsely accused of crime, you did bear, like your Divine master, without murmur or complaint, the calumnies of wicked men, you have been raised up by God as the Patron and Protector of expectant mothers. Preserve me from danger and from the excessive pains accompanying childbirth, and shield the child which I now carry, that it may see the light of day and receive the lustral waters ofbaptism through Jesus Christ our Lord. Amen.

I’ve been saying my own prayers for awhile now so maybe adding this one will help? I’m so lost anymore when it comes to this aspect of my life. I’ll take anyone’s suggestions at this point.

6 thoughts on “Some inspiration

  1. J

    I wore a bracelet with a charm of him on it and prayed for a long time. I use to believe he didn't hear my prayers but now I know he was sending me on a different path. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  2. Poekitten

    I think it's up to you and if you believe that praying to saints is ok/worthwhile. I think it's mostly a Catholic thing. I'm not Catholic, so I don't pray to saints…so I wouldn't pray to this saint. Just my two cents…

    Reply
  3. Lauren

    J – I love that bracelet. It's beautiful! I guess I should have mentioned that I am Catholic. I've always believed in patron saints so it can't hurt to pray to a new one πŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

