TGIF

I’m so happy that it’s finally Friday. Evan has had a busy week at work so it’ll be nice to spend some time with him this weekend. We’re planning to grab dinner out one night this weekend, go to the movies, watch the Super Bowl on Sunday, and catch up on Netflix. We just started United States of Tara Season 2 and it’s great so far.

There’s been so much going on this week as far as school goes – papers and lesson plans to write, discussion boards to post on, and midterms to take. Last week was my last week of Biology and the lab and I’m happy to report that I got A’s in both courses. So excited and shocked at the same time. Unfortunately, my break from undergraduate classes ends on Sunday because I’ll be starting up my Geography class. I hope this is a little more interesting and less time-consuming than Bio. I’m halfway through my first semester of education classes and I’m getting ready to register for next semester already. This are moving along!

We got word the other day that Evan will be leaving sooner than we thought for deployment. I’ve been stressing out about this and I’m upset, but there’s really nothing we can do about it. His company has a week off for leave starting on Valentine’s Day weekend so we’ll have a week to get everything packed and things taken care of before he heads out. My in-laws are coming down President’s Day weekend, so we can tag team with cleaning the house. Also, we’re planning a day trip up to Raleigh.
My first IUI cycle started on Tuesday. I’m still upset and bitter about my latest BFN but I’m trying to be positive about this cycle. I started my injections yesterday morning and to tell you the truth, they really don’t hurt. I’ve been having some injection site pain and mild headaches, but definitely nothing that isn’t bearable. I go in for my ultrasound and blood draw next Wednesday to see how my body is reacting to the new meds. Hopefully I’ll trigger a few days after that and then we’ll go forward with the actual IUI procedure. Evan won’t be here to find out if this cycle is successful so we had to go ahead and make the appointment to do the freezing. I hope we don’t need to do another cycle but being out $500 would suck. If we don’t do it though to save the money, then we may not get another chance to try during deployment. Ugh decisions, decisions.
4 thoughts on “TGIF

  1. Brittany

    Wait … freezing the swimmers costs $500? Dang. That's what we are wanting to do since DH could essentially leave any day. That's a lot of money to put towards not knowing!! Ugh! (of course, not as much as other procedures cost, and totally worth it if it works in the end!)

    Reply
  2. Lauren

    Actually $520 – but what's another $20 when you're already dropping $500? It's for a year of freezing. Your hubby needs to get blood work at the lab done first – HIV, hepatitis, syphilis… Honestly, I was expecting to hear that it would cost $800.

    Reply
  3. Jen

    I know exactly how you feel, we have 1 maybe 2 tries with IUI before my hubby leaves. We are going to freeze if these cycles aren't successful.

    Reply
  4. Lauren

    This is our last shot and he's headed out before we know anything from this IUI. I think we're going to go ahead and just go for it just in case. I hope you guys are successful before your hubby heads out!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

