The countdown begins


My best friend has left and gone off to join in the fight for our country’s freedom again. The next year will be a year of challenges and sadness, but will hopefully also be a year of achievements and friendships.

I told myself I would be stronger this time and not cry. Who was I kidding though? I sat at the table and cried over my breakfast. I cried when he said goodbye to the dogs. I cried when we were packing up the car. I cried when we drove over to meet the bus. I cried when he hugged and kissed me and told me that he loved me. I’m crying as I’m writing this post.
We haven’t been separated for more than a few weeks at a time for the past (almost) 3 years. We’ve been lucky that he got a job with a non-deployable unit and then went onto a year of training. Many wives and families don’t have that much time with their husbands, so I am thankful for the time we have been able to spend together.
I don’t know what I’m going to do without him. I will have to learn how to be more independent and learn how to do things that he normally does. I already am counting down the days until he gets to come home even though this journey has just started. I miss my husband, my best friend, and my heart. I’ll miss sharing the everyday things that we have come to take for granted, like sitting around throwing toys for the pups or watching our shows on Thursday nights. I can’t wait until he comes back.
4 thoughts on “The countdown begins

  1. amiracle4us

    Sending you BIG hugs!! I also want to say thank you, not only to him, but you! One thing I have realized is that the family members of those courageous soldiers are just as important. They are their on the front line supporting and loving them which I see as their fuel to go on. So thank you 🙂

    Reply
  2. Jacqueline

    Aw… I too am sending Hugs!! My best friend/hubs is leaving soon and we too were lucky to be together with no deployments for a solid 2 1/2 years. We have only been apart, much like you, a couple weeks at most. My thoughts are with you!! You have the strength to do this 🙂 And there is no shame in crying! Feel free to make me a 'battle buddy' via blogs or email if you wish! jacqueline@thehalloweenwife.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

