Let the 2 week wait begin

I finally had my IUI completed this morning, so it looks like it’s time to begin the dreaded 2 week wait again. I’m happy that I get a break from constant injections! I was kind of intimidated by the procedure because they have to insert a catheter into your cervix in order to transfer the sperm (this may be TMI but it’s the truth) . It kind of felt like a routine pap, so I was relieved when I felt only a little pain. I am feeling cramps now but it’s nothing that I can’t handle. I talked to Nurse D. about my progesterone concerns, so she gave me progesterone supplements that I will be on until I either get a positive pregnancy test or AF shows. If I get a BFP, then she’ll order more supplements for the first trimester.
I’d have to say that the only disappointing part of the day was the semen analysis report that I received from the IVF clinic. It said that they were only able to collect and store 3 vials. We use 1 vial each time I have to do an IUI which means that we only have 2 more tries if this doesn’t work. If it doesn’t then I’ll have to talk to Dr. P to see how we’ll proceed. Nurse D. also mentioned that if I’m not pregnant this time, I will have to get a hysterosalpingogram (HSG) test done. Basically, it’s an x-ray that looks at the inside of the uterus and fallopian tubes. Let’s just hope that I get pregnant so I don’t have to worry about all this other stuff.
I was also told that I can’t do anything that “makes my ponytail bounce” for the next 2 weeks. This is going to be hard for me because I love to workout. I was supposed to run a 5K tomorrow morning but obviously running is out of the question. I’m still going to participate but I’ll be walking it instead. I asked if I could go to spin class and she said yes but to make sure the workout isn’t too intense. I’ll have to modify some of the exercises like cutting out the sprints and extended hill climbs. I’ll be thankful when this 2 week wait is over with!
6 thoughts on “Let the 2 week wait begin

  1. Michelle

    Sending prayers and baby dust your way. Take it easy, the 2 week wait will be SSOO worth it in the end. P.S I took progesterone with all my pregnancies and woowee it brings on the morning sickness like no other!-M-michelletherib.blogspot.com

    Reply
  2. Jen

    Definitely wishing you lots of luck! We are so anxious for ours on Monday. I will have to be on progesterone supplements as well. I hope these two weeks fly by for you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

