Milspouse Friday Fill-In #14

Before getting into the questions for this week, I just wanted to say that my thoughts and prayers are going out to everyone who has been affected by the earthquake and tsunami. We have friends who are stationed overseas in the affected areas and have friends who live on the West Coast. I’m praying that everyone is safe and that the worst of this is over with.

I guess there’s no good transition between that and the Friday Fill-In so I’m just going to start with the questions. If you’d like to link up your blog, head over to Wife of a Sailor’s blog and join in.
1. During military separations (whether short or long) how do you keep yourself positive and motivated? submitted by Married/Single Parent

I’m going to be honest and say that sometimes it’s really hard to stay positive throughout a long TDY or deployment. I do my best to stay busy and keep my mind off the deployment as much as possible. I’m going to grad school full time so that tends to keep my mind off of things most of the time. I also go to the gym a lot to work out my frustrations and help keep me focused.

2. What is your favorite concert you have been to? submitted by Young but Not (Completely) Dumb

I really miss going to concerts. When I was in college, I was a DJ at my college’s radio station and I used to get into concerts for free all the time with my roommate. I think I’ve seen over 150 bands in concert. Out of all the concerts, I have to say that my favorite show was Taking Back Sunday. This band was my absolute favorite band my junior and senior years of college and I still have a special place in my heart for them. They’re still constantly playing on my Ipod 🙂

3. What do you miss most about your “hometown”? submitted by A Florida Girl and Her Soldier

I’d have to say that I miss my friends the most. I have a small group of good friends and I miss being able to see them. We only make it home around the holidays so it’s hard sometimes to feel like a part of their lives. During this deployment, I’m going to try and make it home over the summer and do a week-long visit with friends I haven’t seen in awhile.

4. If you could run any race, which charity would you choose to support? submitted by Wookie & Co.

I’ve actually run a few races that supported charities. I ran a 5K in support of breast cancer a few years ago with my co-workers and ran a 5K in December which benefited a local hospital. I hope to do more runs in the future that will support a variety of different charities.

5. You find out Willy Wonka is your father, what 3 course meal do you INSIST he create in that stick of gum? submitted by A{musing} Mommy on a Pink Park Bench

This is such a creative question! There are so many yummy things I would like to include but I guess I’ll have to narrow it down. I would start with a baked potato soup. For the main course, I would have roasted turkey and sweet potatoes. Finally, for dessert, I would like chocolate bread pudding. Bring on the carbs!
3 thoughts on “Milspouse Friday Fill-In #14

Leave a Reply

