Milspouse Friday Fill-In #15


It’s been one crazy week! This was my last week of the semester for my first round of education classes – 1 final and 3 final papers were due. Everything has been turned in and I’m just waiting on my grades. I’ve been debating the last few days whether or not to add on a master’s degree in curriculum design to my certification program. The master’s degree only requires 5 more classes so I’m seriously thinking about just going for it. I’ll be talking to my advisor next week to see what my options are.

Ok onto the Friday Fill-in. Head over to Wife of a Sailor’s blog to link you your blog!
1. What are some of your ideas for staying connected with family…you know, those people we moved thousands of miles away from? submitted by Live it. Love it (or not). Write About it.

I talk to my parents and my in-laws on the phone every so often. My mother-in-law and I sometimes email back and forth also. Since Evan’s been gone, we try to talk on Skype or through Facebook. We didn’t have the opportunity to Skype on the last deployment because of his job, but I love being able to use it this time!

2. What’s the most romantic gift you have GIVEN? submitted by Painting My Canvas

I don’t know that I’ve actually given anything romantic. I’m not really a romantic type of girl. I did give Evan a new wedding ring for his birthday about 3 years ago. Why did he need a new wedding ring? Well he dropped it down a hole when he was deployed. Him and his platoon were trying to dig out one of their trucks, the ring slipped off, and that was it. I got him a cheap but nice replacement when he got home. I’ll probably buy him a nicer one…when he retires.

3. Would you encourage your child, if they came to you and wanted to join the military? submitted by Perfectly Imperfect

Definitely. I’ll support my children in anything they want to do. I would encourage them to do research though so they know exactly what being in the military would entail. I would encourage them to pursue some higher education though because a good education is important in so many ways.

4. What is your least favorite bill to pay and why? submitted by A Little of This, A Little of That

It used to be the electric bill because using the heater makes that bill go way up! I’m happy to report that since it’s been warm out lately, the heater has been shut off, and the electric bill is back to normal. Now the least favorite bill to pay is the cell phone bill. I don’t understand why these family plans cost so much. Is it really necessary to charge $30 a month per phone just to use the internet? Crazy.

5. What is your proudest moment you’ve had as a military spouse? submitted by Our Okinawa Life

I’d have to say my proudest moment was when Evan graduated from Ranger School back in 2006. It’s one of those schools that Evan wanted to go to and succeed at. He hurt his ankle badly when he went the first time in 2005 and wanted to go back as soon as the Army would allow him. He got a slot for pre-Ranger in January, left for Benning in February, and graduated in April. It was an honor to pin the Ranger tab on him.
One thought on “Milspouse Friday Fill-In #15

  1. Sarah Ruth

    I may have to get my husband a new wedding ring. He's lost a bunch of weight since he's been deployed and he told me last week that it came off when he was washing his hands! He still has it, thankfully, but he needs a new one. (I don't think it can be resized)Stopping by from Friday Fill-In!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

