IUI #2 update

I went to see Dr. P. bright and early yesterday morning at 6:30 AM. When I got into the office I was shocked that only one other girl was in the waiting room. Usually the office is packed, so I was happy to see that that wasn’t the case this time. Dr. P. did my ultrasound and said everything looked good so far. I’ve only been doing the injections for a week so I’ll continue them through the weekend and head back in for another ultrasound/blood draw on Monday morning. My hormone levels were right where they needed to be unlike last cycle at this time. It looks like we finally got the dosage right. If things look good on Monday, I’m going to ask Dr. P. if we can do the IUI 24 hours after the trigger shot instead of 36 hours after. It really can’t hurt to do it a little earlier just to make sure we don’t miss ovulation this time. My stomach is so ready to be done with this injections. I have huge bruises on the right side that have turned a lovely shade of yellow. I think my body is rebelling against this. However, I definitely don’t feel as bloated this time which is good. This may be due to the fact that I’ve been gluten free for almost 2 weeks now. I can already feel a difference so I’ll be continuing the diet. I could (and probably will) write a post on that later this weekend.

Side note: This may come off as a little bit selfish but my best friend told me that she’s going to be testing on Sunday because her period is late. Don’t get me wrong – I’ll be so excited for her if she’s pregnant. But then again, I know down deep that I’ll be jealous. Her and her husband have only been trying since November. She’s been so supportive through my miscarriages and this whole infertility journey so I want to be nothing but supportive towards her. How I be 100% supportive when I have jealously issues though?
4 thoughts on “IUI #2 update

  1. Erin

    Fingers crossed for a successful cycle! Sounds like things are looking good. I think it it totally not selfish to feel those feelings about your friend being pregnant.

    Reply
  2. amiracle4us

    The feelings aren't selfish at all. They are normal. This journey is tough and how you are doing it without your husband home amazes me. You are so strong and if she is (oober) luck enough to have already conceived, you will be okay. It will hurt, but know your time is coming too!! xo

    Reply
  3. Jodi

    found your blog, from looking at my flickr stats. Do the US do IUI's differently? I did an IUI this month and on day 10 in the morning, I had a scan and bloods, and they said I would ovulate within 12 hours, so I had the insemination that afternoon and then took the trigger when I got home.And no need to feel bad about those feelings, they're natural for those going through fertility issues. Good luck.

    Reply
  4. Lauren

    Hey Jodi, Yes we do it differently here. A typical situation here is that once the follies are ready and the blood work shows good hormone levels, I'll give myself the trigger shot then show up for the IUI 36 hours later. I ovulated early and I guess that's why this past IUI was a bust. Hope yours works for you though!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

