Gluten free brownie recipe

I was craving brownies on Thursday so I thought I would try to adapt my “healthy” brownie recipe into a gluten free one. I say that they’re healthy because the recipe doesn’t contain any added fat. Somehow they come out moist and delicious every time! After tasting one of these brownies, I don’t think anyone could tell that they’re gluten free. They tasted just like the brownies baked using the original recipe!

Makes 12 brownies
Ingredients:
1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce
1 tsp vanilla
4 egg whites
1 cup sugar
1/4 cup flour (I substituted 1/4 cup of Pamela’s Baking Mix to make it gluten free)
1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1/2 tsp baking powder (omit if using Pamela’s – it already has baking powder in it)
1/2 tsp salt
Preparation:
1. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees
2. Spray an 8×8 pan with cooking spray
3. Combine applesauce, vanilla, egg whites, and sugar in a medium bowl.
4. Combine flour, cocoa, baking powder, and salt in a large bowl.
5. Add wet ingredients to dry ingredients and stir to combine.
6. Spread batter into an even layer in your 8×8 pan.
7. Bake for 20 to 22 minutes.
8. Cool for about an hour and then slice into 12 squares.
9. Enjoy!

6 thoughts on “Gluten free brownie recipe

  1. Shelly

    I'm a new follower from the Military Bloghop. I love brownies…I'll have to save this recipe. I look forward to following along with your blog. Someone very close to me is dealing with infertility also and has touched my life in some ways too. I'm not sure if I'll be able to share the experience on my blog ( b/c it's not just my personal story that would be made public), but just know that I'm rooting for you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

