Vote for a fellow MilSpouse blogger!


I think I’ve mentioned my friend Katie and her blog in a previous post but I wanted to share their story with my readers again because Katie’s blog has been nominated for a blogging award at the 6th annual Milblogging Conference in Washington, D.C.

Katie and I met while our husbands were stationed at Ft. Benning, GA a few years ago. We went to the same spin class on post and started talking in December 2008. Over the next few months, we talked a lot and started hanging out on a regular basis – going to spin, yoga, and core classes and hanging out at the pool.
On August 27, 2009, Katie and her husband Ben’s lives changed forever. I learned through an email from one of Katie’s friends that Katie and Ben were in a terrible car accident and that both of them were in the hospital. Ben was in a medically induced coma and Katie had sustained some serious injuries of her own. My heart dropped into my stomach when I read the email and immediately called Katie’s phone but only got her voicemail. She contacted me the next day (I think) and I went to see her in the hospital. She stayed in the hospital for about 2 weeks but Ben remained in a coma. Once Ben was finally brought out of the coma, it was determined that he had a traumatic brain injury.
Over the past (almost) 2 years, Katie and Ben have traveled back and forth across the country so Ben could receive treatment and therapy from some of the best rehab centers in the U.S. As of last week, they have finally moved back to Washington State, where Katie is originally from.
Katie is one of the strongest people I have ever met. I’m thankful that I get to call her my friend. She blogs about her and Ben’s journey, her faith in God, her emotions, and what goes on in their daily lives among other things. Her blog posts are heartfelt, open, emotional, and sometimes very humorous.
Now that Katie and Ben will be living under the same roof again after spending almost 2 years living apart, Katie will now be shifting into her role as a full-time caretaker. Please keep her and Ben in your thoughts and prayers as they make this transition.
So if you think you’re interested in learning more about Katie and Ben’s journey, head over to Katie’s blog and head over to the Milblogging Conference site and VOTE for Katie’s blog (under best military spouse blog)!
Leave a Reply

