NIAW Post #2 – The A to Z of TTC

I saw this on my friend Belinda’s blog so I thought I’d fill out it and give you all a little more information about my infertility journey.

A. Age when you started TTC: 24

B. Baby Dancing or Sex: Sex.

C. Children wanted: At this point, I’d be happy with 1, but I’ve always wanted 3. We’ll see what happens.

D. Dogs/Cats/Fill in Children: 2 dogs – Bella and Murphy.

E. Essential Oils/Vitamins/Snake Oils: Snake oils?? I’ve never heard of women using this for TTC. Someone enlighten me. I’ve been taking prenatal vitamins everyday for the past 3 years. Every time I finish another 100 count bottle I get more depressed.

F. Fertility Meds I’ve taken: C.lomid, M.etformin, G.onal-F, P.rovera, O.vidrel, E.ndometrin, and currently waiting on AF to show so I can start F.emara.

G. Gain: I gained about 10 when I was on C.lomid for 4 cycles when we lived in Georgia. I lost the weight when I was pregnant and was constantly throwing up. After the miscarriage, I probably gained most of it back and then lost it over the next year. I gained some again after being on the injectibles but have lost it again.

H. HSG (Hystosalpingogram): Haven’t had this done but it’s probably in my near future once the cycle from hell #2 is finally over.

I. Infertile Pet Peeves: Where to begin? I can’t stand when people tell me: It’ll happen when the time is right, things always happen for a reason (this was in regards to both my miscarriages), At least you know you can get pregnant (again several people told me this after both miscarriages), Just relax, Why don’t you just adopt.

J. Job title: Full time master’s student. School has taken over my life.

K. Kid’s names you’re afraid will be taken by the time you can use them: We’ve had our boy’s name picked out since my first pregnancy: Joshua Michael. As far as the girl’s name, we haven’t settled on a definite one. My current favorites are Abigail Noelle and Julia Noelle.

L. Length of time TTC: Just passed the 3 year mark at the beginning of the month.

M. Miscarriages: Unfortunately 2. My first was discovered March 25, 2009 at 11 weeks. Missed miscarriage. My second was discovered on November 4, 2010. Chemical pregnancy.

N. Number of times you’ve switched OB/GYNS, REs, FSs: 3 in 2 years…an OB/GYN in Georgia, then an RE in Arizona, now another RE here in North Carolina.

O. Ovarian quality: As far as I know it’s good.


P. POAS or wait for AF: Since my cycles are unpredictable, I usually POAS after cd 35. This usually is the signal for AF to start.

Q. Quote from an obnoxious fertile: I can’t think of anything in particular right now but I’ll get back to you on this one.

S. Sperm: The last SA showed that we have no problems there.

T. Time you tried naturally: 1 year. If I had it my way, it would have been shorter but T.ricare requires couples to wait a year before they’ll approve an infertility referral.

U. Uterus quality: To be determined I suppose. Since I’ve only had 2 losses, my doctors haven’t been inclined to determine why I can’t stay pregnant.

V. Vagina: She’s tired of dates with Wandy.

W. What baby stuff do you already have?: Two close friends from Georgia made me a beautiful baby basket before we were getting ready to PCS. It was filled with newborn diapers, wipes, some onesies, receiving blankets, and burp cloths. I found the basket hidden behind some things in my closet last week. Talk about depressing.

X. X-tra X-tra Hear all about it! How many people know the ins and outs of our crazy TTC journey? My best friend is one of the only people who actually knows everything that has gone on for the past 3 years. I’ve found that a lot of people are either uncomfortable about the topic or just flat out don’t care.

Y. Yearly Exam (do you still go in even though someone sees your lady parts most months?): Yep

Z. Zits: Yes, the M.etformin makes me break out like a 13 year old. Ironically I never had zits before starting this med a year ago.

Leave a Reply

