May 1, 2011


This is another date that people will remember where they were and what they were doing when they heard that news that Osama Bin Laden was killed. Where was I and what was I doing? I was sitting in bed with the dogs, watching The Apprentice. Kind of ironic that Obama interrupted Trump isn’t it? Is this a foreshadow of what’s to come in the upcoming presidential election?

I’m not going to say much about this simply because I don’t like to get into the political side of current issues. While people are celebrating the death of a person who has had a major hand in the terrorist attacks on our country, we have to remember that just because he is no longer around, that doesn’t mean that this war is over. Bin Laden is just one person in an entire network of people who strongly oppose the United States and what we stand for and believe in. Just because he’s been killed doesn’t mean that we should let our guard down or that our troops will be sent home immediately. We have to be aware that there will most likely be retaliation from Bin Laden’s supporters. This scares me very much. Also, people who live in Afghanistan who have been working with our military may also be in danger. Please keep our troops, their families, and all those who could be affected by the outcome of this situation.
4 thoughts on “May 1, 2011

  1. Fran

    Completely agree, at first I was relieved but now the more I think about it, the more I get nervous about retaliation.

    Reply
  2. Katrina

    When my daughter came into the room and said, "Osama's dead!" I swear my heart sank because what I heard was "Obama's dead" — I mean, my mind didn't even think Bin Laden. All that talk about Pres. Obama's birth certificate lately…well, "Obama" is what I heard. And I said, WHAT??!!! and she said, "Yea, I just heard saw it on Twitter. We finally got him!" and only then did it sink into my head just WHO we were talking about.Anyway….I'm glad he'd dead. It brings a bit of justice, yes. But I fear this has only angered the terrorists who followed and worked closely with him. Especially when they see us celebrating on the news. I'm sure there have always been other plots of terrorism in the works…but now they might just carry out a few of them, you know, to "show us" who can hurt who the worst. Something bigger than 9/11 is what they will try next. This thought keeps me awake at night. You are right: Bin Laden is just ONE of them. Just one. There are many others. Now is not the time to let our guard down. Now is not the time to pull our troops. I hope our military leaders are smart about this and stay even more alert in the coming months (and years) — the terrorists are a patient bunch. They will wait until our guard is down. Can we EVER let our guard down? I don't think so.What a world.Anyway, I saw your button on the Blog Button Hop. I'm a new follower 🙂TheyAllCallMeMom

    Reply

Leave a Reply

