An update and a chocolate chip banana bread recipe

Blogger is finally back up! Not that I had much time free to blog, but I’m glad that it’s up and running again. I’ve been busy with classroom observation hours, writing what seems like a million papers, and dealing with the absence of AF. My checklist for the semester is slowly being checked off. I have 3 more required observations hours to complete, one more interview to conduct, and around 10 more papers to write. I’m keeping my fingers crossed that I won’t have quite as many papers to write next semester. I’m setting my sights on June 6 and hoping it comes quickly!

Right now, I’m sitting on CD 67. Are you kidding me? My temperatures and chart piss me off on a daily basis but hopefully there is an end in sight. Nurse D told me to call back 30 days after the last P.rovera pill. 30 days = this Friday so I will be calling Thursday so hopefully I get can get an appointment on Friday or the following Monday. Cycle from hell #2 needs to end. Now.

Now that I’ve updated you on my oh so interesting (sarcasm) life, onto the chocolate chip banana bread recipe. Again, it’s gluten free but I’ll include the original recipe with GF substitutions noted.

Ingredients

2 cups all-purpose flour (I used 2 cups Pamela’s Baking Mix)
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda (I eliminated the baking soda because the baking mix already contains this)
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 tsp ground cinnamon
1/8 tsp nutmeg
2 eggs, beaten
1 1/2 cup mashed banana
1 cup sugar
1/2 cup canola oil or melted butter (I used 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce. Makes the bread moist but doesn’t add any additional fat)
1 tsp vanilla
1 cup chocolate chips

Preparation

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease the bottom and sides of a 9x5x3 inch or two 7x3x2 inch loaf pans and set aside.

In a large bowl, combine flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, and nutmeg. Make a well in the center of the flour mixture and set aside.

In a medium bowl, combine eggs, banana, sugar, vanilla, and oil. Add wet ingredients all at once to the flour mixture. Stir until moistened. Batter will be lumpy. Fold in chocolate chips.


Pour batter into prepared pan(s).

Bake for 55 to 60 minutes if using one pan or 40 to 45 if using two pans. Cool in pan for 10 minutes. Remove from pan and cool completely. Wrap and store overnight before slicing.

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “An update and a chocolate chip banana bread recipe

  1. Jen

    Yum!!! That looks delish! 🙂 I am soo sorry you are having the cycle from hell. We are at the end of our road since Kyle is leaving so soon. We opted not to freeze before he goes. I still pray for you daily that everything will work out.

    Reply
  2. Jen Stanley

    Now I know why you were working off frustration in class 🙂 I hope the cycle from hell ends soon too. If you want to work off some more frustration, we are running after spin again on Wednesday!! Otherwise, maybe dinner one night this week?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

