A cupcake recipe and a new haircut

Some girlfriends and I had a Harry Potter marathon this past Sunday and I decided to bake some awesome vanilla cupcakes to have for dessert. I tripled the original recipe because it’s a 2 cupcake recipe and adapted to make it gluten-free. I also made my own homemade cream cheese icing. The cupcake recipe was taken from How Sweet It Is and the icing recipe was from Allrecipes.com.

Vanilla Cupcakes – Ingredients
3 egg whites
6 tbsp sugar
6 tbsp butter, melted
3 tsp vanilla
3/4 cup flour (I used a gluten-free blend)
3/4 tsp baking powder
3 pinches of salt
4 1/2 tbsp milk
Preparation
Preheat your oven to 350 degrees
In a bowl, add the egg whites and sugar. Whisk to combine.
Next, add the melted butter and vanilla to the bowl. Stir until combined.
Add flour, baking powder, and salt. Stir until smooth.
Stir in the milk.
Divide batter between 6 cupcake liners.
Bake for 18 – 20 minutes (the original recipe states that you should only bake for 10 – 12 minutes but I found that the centers of the cupcakes were still runny)
Cool completely and frost.

Cream cheese frosting – Ingredients
4 oz cream cheese (I used reduced fat cream cheese and it still tasted good)
2 tbsp butter, softened
1/2 cup sifted confectioner’s sugar
1/4 tsp vanilla
Preparation
In a bowl, cream the cream cheese and butter until creamy.
Next, add the vanilla and mix until combined.
Gradually stir in the confectioner’s sugar.
Finally, frost the cupcakes and store in a cool place or in the refrigerator.


Oh and I guess I said something about a new haircut in the blog title… Well it’s been about 9 months since my last haircut (shameful), so I decided that today was the perfect day to trim off the dead ends and get some layers put back in before leaving for the beach this weekend. What do you think?

2 thoughts on “A cupcake recipe and a new haircut

Leave a Reply

