Back to reality

This past week I was able to go to Wrightsville Beach with E’s parents and his sister-in-law. While it wasn’t a completely relaxing vacation due to the fact that I had to deal with 4 classes worth of homework, I still had a lot of fun. My in-laws rented a cute little beach cottage that was literally steps from the beach. The downstairs wasn’t much to brag about but the second floor had an amazing open family room with views of the ocean. Lots of big windows and a huge deck that overlooked the backyard. I spent most of my time up there doing homework, hanging out, and reading.

Now I do have fair skin and a major risk of getting sunburned despite the fact that I slather myself in SPF 55 sunscreen, so I had to limit my time on the beach. I would go up to the beach and sit out for about an hour and a half a day. I enjoyed snapping pictures, looking for seashells, walking along the water, and watching my sister-in-law build sandcastles and fly her kite.


The dogs were kind of crazy because they were in unfamiliar territory and they felt like they had to battle for our attention because my in-law’s dog was also there. I took some long walks through the neighborhoods, ate at a few great restaurants, played board games, and had a visit from some friends.

Overall, I think it was a pretty good week even though it would have been better if homework wasn’t involved! Can’t wait to hopefully go back with E next summer!

Leave a Reply

