I’ve been slacking…



….on my blogging lately – totally overwhelmed with school work and emotions right now. I’m down to the wire with my graduate school classes for this quarter. I have a little less than 3 weeks remaining and there is still a lot of work to do! I also started my last undergraduate course required for content area knowledge, so I’m back to dealing with 4 classes at one time. I’m looking forward to my 3 week break coming up at the end of the month.

Onto IUI #3 news – I went in for another ultrasound and blood draw on Monday morning. Up on the screen the 3 (worthless) giant follies appeared, but so did a 19mm and a 13mm. Nurse D told me that both of those looked promising; however, it would be up to the blood draw results to determine whether or not I could trigger. She called me in the early afternoon and told me that my levels only went up from a 37 on Wednesday to a 51. She sounded just as defeated as I felt when I heard the news. Dr. P. wanted me to continue with the injections and come back on Friday. This is getting out of hand. By Friday, I’ll have been on the injections for almost 4 full weeks. My emotions are all over the place. One minute I want to snap at someone and the next, I just want to cry. It doesn’t help that I’m full party planning mode for my best friend’s baby shower, which is in exactly a month. I bought her a nice present off of her registry (cute safari themed crib bedding), but looking at her registry nearly brought me to tears. I want to be in her shoes so much right now. I can’t wait to see her next month and to meet my little niece, but it’s going to be hard for me. It’s always hard to see someone else get/have what I’ve been wanting for so long.
Ok enough of the emotional news – onto something more positive…..
E. finally got his R & R dates! Obviously I can’t publish dates due to OPSEC, but I can say that it won’t be too much longer 🙂 Since I’ll be going home for the baby shower, we decided to not make the trip all the way up to PA again. We’re planning on spending a long weekend in Washington, D.C. and giving the families the option of coming down to see us. My parents and my in-laws are in PA and MD, so I don’t think we’re asking them to travel too far. Does anyone have any suggestions for must-see/must-do things in the D.C. area? I can’t wait to see E! I feel like this deployment is never-ending. I know the pups miss him too and can’t wait to attack him with licks and loves.
I’ll try to post another update after my appointment on Friday. Hope everyone is having a good week!
2 thoughts on “I’ve been slacking…

  1. medicalwife

    YAY for E's R&R!!!! I know that will be a huge breath of relief for you for a little while. My husb used to live in the DC area, so we went exploring it every time I went out there to visit. My personal favorites are: FDR memorial (not very well known, therefore not heavily trafficked), Holocaust Museum (I know, not very uplifting, but very good), the National Arboretum (we love the outdoors, and my husb proposed to me here. Obviously that is of no consequence to you, but it's pretty and it's a nice place to have a picnic lunch). I wish I could recommend places to eat, but we never ate out very much as he was a brand new medical student and we didn't have much money to spend. : ) And of course, all the regular sites are amazing as well. I'm sorry this IUI cycle is dragging on to no avail. I know it must be mind blowingly frustrating every time you go in and come out with no good news. My fingers are crossed for this Friday!!

    Reply
  2. Snoopy's Sweetheart

    My hubby and I live in D.C. and absolutely love the International Spy Museum. It's a lot of fun and it's good for the soul to feel like a kid sometimes. =) Checking out the Pentagon Row mall is also pretty fun if you like to shop. They've got just about everything!A few of our favorite places to eat? Carlyle (in Shirlington), Hops (at Potomac Yard), and Don Pablos (also at Potomac Yard).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

