Never Forget

Over the past 10 years the phrase “You will never forget where you were or what you were doing on September 11” has been spoken by many. I remember exactly where I was, what I was doing, and who I was with. I was a sophomore in college, sitting in electronics class, surrounded by 20 classmates who was as bored as I was. I remember a guy from another class running into our classroom telling us to turn on the television. We kept seeing the news replay footage of the first tower being hit. I remember thinking of E. who was deployed at the time. I remember thinking of my dad who worked and still works in a government building. I remember watching the second tower falling. I remember my college making classes optional for the rest of the day. I remember going to my psychology class because I didn’t want to sit in my dorm room alone. I remember crying because classmates were scared that they would have to deploy because they were in the reserves or the National Guard. I remember that even though they were scared, they were willing to fight whenever and wherever for our freedom. I remember going back to my dorm room and sitting with my roommate Amy. We watched the television all afternoon and all night. The horrifying images kept playing over and over again. I couldn’t believe how united Americans felt after the tragedies had occurred. I can’t even begin to image how the families and friends of those that lost their lives still feel today. Never forget the sacrifices that everyone involved made on that day. Never forget the lives that were lost. Never forget the sacrifices that our military has been making ever since then to keep our country safe. I hope we never have to see or live through something like that again.

2 thoughts on “Never Forget

  1. Erinn

    To have been older when this was going on and be able to process it quicker must've been overwhelming. I was only 12 when it happened so it took some time for me to really grasp what was going on. Thank you for sharing–Erinn

    Reply

Leave a Reply

