Baby shower and other weekend happenings

First off, I never want to see the inside of my car for more than an hour at a time for awhile. From Thursday through Sunday, I spent about 20 hours in the car driving back and forth between here and PA and then to and from various friends’ houses while I was back home. Even though the driving was a pain in the rear, I had a fabulous weekend. Driving for 8 hours on Thursday gave me time to mentally prepare for what I was going to face while I was up there.

I had a chance to visit one of my college roommates and meet her daughter, Emily, for the first time. Emily was such a cute, chubby, and happy 8 month old! She was such a joy to be around. I also got to play with Luke, Emily’s big brother. My friend and I caught up with what has been happening over the past few months and entertained the kids together for a few hours. After hanging out at their house, I headed back towards my parents’ house and stopped to visit one of my high school friends who had just given birth to her first son, Giovanni, about 3 and half weeks ago. What an adorable little baby he was! I was able to hold him for about 15 minutes until he started to get a little fussy. He just wanted his mommy 🙂 We had a good time reminiscing about the high school days (can’t believe we graduated over 11 years ago) and talked about what’s been going on more recently.
Friday evening, I got to see some other friends from high school. We met up at a local Mexican restaurant and I splurged on some ice cream for dessert since I had already eaten dinner with my parents. One of my friends is due at the beginning of January and this was the first time I saw her in person. Even though I did have those twinges of jealousy and sadness, I was also happy and excited for her. I felt the same way the whole weekend actually – slightly jealous and sad over what I don’t have, but happy for the babies that have been born already and will be born soon.
Next up on Saturday was my BFF’s baby shower. Her sister, mother, and I set up the house early since BFF decided she wanted to show up before her guests. What a brat! 🙂 The decor was awesome, everyone loved the favors, the food was amazing, and BFF scored a lot of great baby stuff. Once the nursery furniture arrives, she will be set for the arrival of baby Angela. She’s due very close to Thanksgiving so unfortunately I won’t be able to meet baby Angela until right before Christmas. I’m pretty sure I finish up my fall quarter on December 10th, so I’m going to try and work out a time to go visit them before heading to the parents and the in-laws for Christmas. I’ll leave you all with some pictures from the big day. Enjoy!

(guest book table)

(more cute decor)

(baby onesie banner)

(favor table)

(present time!)

(more presents)

(cutting the cake)

(high school friends)

(another group shot before the party started to wind down)

(BFF, her mom, and sister)
2 thoughts on “Baby shower and other weekend happenings

  1. Aly

    Very cute shower! I need the recipe for those favors, they are SUPER cute! I'm throwing a baby shower in a few months and those would be PERFECT!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

