Moving onto IVF

I left a message for my RE’s nurse on Sunday and she called me back this afternoon. Here is the tentative plan:

I will have a saline sonogram done sometime next week. However, my RE won’t be able to perform the sonogram because the clinic is closed. Either the radiology department or another doctor will be performing the procedure. Not sure how I feel about this, but it needs to be done within a certain timeframe.
We will attempt to do one more IUI after E returns, but before IVF. If it works – great. That means we save about $7,000 plus I don’t have to stick myself an insane amount of times. If it doesn’t, then we will go to the IVF orientation on April 18th. I thought that I would start the prep for IVF in March; however, I was originally misinformed. It doesn’t look like the clinic is doing anything IVF related in March. I’m actually alright with this. E is supposed to have 2 weeks of vacation at the beginning of April and we were debating going on a vacation. I’ll have a week off from student teaching due to spring break, so this actually works out perfectly for us.
The egg retrieval would tentatively occur during the week of May 7 with either a 3 or 5 day transfer. It looks like I’ll have to ask to begin my student teaching about a week early so I can have a few days off for the procedures. I don’t want to fall behind and have to make up the few days at the beginning of June.
While I’m not trying to dwell on this past IUI failure, it’s hard not to be disappointed. I’m glad we have a plan, but it’s also disappointing that we have to put TTC on hold for so long. It feels like we’re always waiting. My first angel’s first birthday should have been this coming Thursday, October 13. What would have our lives been like if that baby would have been born?
Also, possibly the only positive that came out of this IUI was finding out that 2 doses of progesterone is needed each day. My LP while on 1 dose was 10 days. My LP this time was 13 days, which is back in the “normal” range. I wonder what would have happened with the first 3 IUIs if I had been on the progesterone 2 times a day instead of 1? There I go again, dwelling on the past. I really need to just move on, live in the present, and look forward to the future. It’s still hard at this point, but I’ll get there. Someday.
6 thoughts on “Moving onto IVF

  1. Megan

    Are you doing IVF through a MTF or civilian clinic? Were on the waiting list at our MTF…for next July. 😦 We are trying to decide if we want to switch to Tricare Standards so we can see a civilian doctor who gives a 50% discount on IVF cycles. It's tough, especially the waiting. I'm sorry that we're both in this situation. I know what you mean about living in the past–for what it's worth, my doctor on post has NEVER checked my progesterone levels. That should tell you something about the care I'm receiving.

    Reply
  2. amiracle4us

    I am sorry this IUI didn't work. It is so so hard not to look back and ask 'what if', but try not to. All it does it drive you more crazy. Take this time and do things you wouldn't normally do, or couldn't do while TTC. Keep your head up….our one day babies will be here 🙂

    Reply
  3. Lauren

    Thanks ladies for your support. It means a lot to me. I hope we all get our miracle babies soon. Megan, I'm doing IVF through an MTF. There is a wait list here; however, the first month open was January. I wish we could have done it then, but E will still be away. You're at Lewis, correct? I have a friend seeing the RE there and I don't think she's very impressed with the level of care she's been receiving. Looking into your options through Standard may be your best bet if you're hoping to do IVF before next summer. Also, never be afraid to ask for more tests, meds, etc. The only reason a LP issue was noticed was because of my obsessive charting.

    Reply
  4. medicalwife

    My heart aches so much for you guys. I'm hoping this waiting period flies by quickly so you can move forward with the plan. A plan is always so reassuring, but so frustrating when you have to wait so long. : ( *hugs*

    Reply
  5. annoyed army wife

    I really hope the next (and last) IUI works for you guys so you don't have to go through IVF. But I'm glad you have a pretty solid plan in place and that you're anal with charting and now on the correct progesterone supplementation level. 🙂

    Reply
  6. Megan

    Yup, we're at Lewis. I'm sure you already figured that out by now! Haha. I have started a FB group for Lewis IFers. Let me know if you think you friend might be interested in joining and I can send you the link. We try to meet up once a month for lunch or something!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

