What’s going on?

I’ve been slacking on the posts because life is a bit overwhelming at the moment. I’m halfway through my second to last quarter of classes and my parents decided to come visit for a week. In between writing papers, answering midterm questions, and writing discussion board posts, I’ve been cramming in 30 hours of classroom observations. Thankfully, I’m almost finished! That means I can finally get back into my normal routine, which includes going back to spin and muscles classes.

My parents visit definitely threw me off. They were here for an entire week, so I had to do my best to entertain them. Unfortunately for all of us, there’s not too much to do around here, so a lot of time was spent in the house. My dad and I did get to go ziplining (not an activity that I thought I would be able to do in North Carolina) and we had a good time.

(My dad zipping along)

(Waiting to cross the huge suspension bridge)

(Waterfall!)

(Suspension bridge)

Since we’re currently sitting on the TTC bench until the beginning of next year, I decided to go through with any and all testing that my RE suggests in preparation for IVF. After some scheduling conflicts due to not having a negative pregnancy test (talk about a stab to an infertile’s heart after a failed IUI) on file, I finally had my saline sonogram done. I was nervous because another doctor would be performing the procedure since my RE was out of the clinic. Surprisingly, everything went well and I only experienced some minor cramping after the procedure was over with. Nurse D told me that everything looked clear. We also discussed scheduling an HSG to check out my tubes. D thought that I had had one done before – nope! Since I can’t schedule the HSG until the next cycle day 1, I’m looking at popping some birth control pills. My chart is all over the place and I haven’t ovulated or had a period without drugs in who knows how long, so I’ll go in for another darn blood test on cycle day 35, then start the birth control. D suggested that I just stay on the pills until E gets home so we can time one more IUI before our IVF cycle in April.

While we were on the topic of IVF, I asked about the drug protocol. It seems my combo of meds will be L.upron, G.onal, M.enopur, and E.ndometrin. I’m slightly nervous about the M.enopur because I’ve heard that it burns. Hopefully I won’t have to stim too long or produce too many follicles which causes a cancellation. Figuring out a correct dosage for me has proven to be tricky in the past. D told me that I’ll most likely come in for monitoring every day or every other day. I guess we’ll just have to wait and see.
So I guess that’s the run down of what’s been going on around here. BF is gearing up to have baby girl. Since I won’t be able to make it home for Thanksgiving, we decided that I would spend a few days with them before Christmas. I’m looking forward to meeting my “niece”. She’s already so spoiled and she’s not even here yet.
Hope everyone is having a great weekend! Happy Halloween tomorrow 🙂
One thought on “What’s going on?

Leave a Reply

