Welcome to the world baby girl

After much anticipation and waiting, BFF (M) finally had her little girl yesterday! A. was originally due on November 18th; however, she had other plans. M. has been uncomfortable for almost the whole third trimester. A. decided that she wanted to lodge herself up under momma’s rib cage, so M. was definitely ready to deliver her little girl!

M. went in for her weekly appointment this past Tuesday and they told her that she was only 1 cm dilated and to come back in on Friday for a non-stress test. She passed the test and found out that she was having contractions and didn’t even know it! She also dilated 2 more centimeters. She was told that labor might happen at anytime.
Since I’ve been on baby watch for the last few weeks, the ringer on my cell phone stayed up at all times – just in case. On Saturday morning around 7, M.’s husband texted me to let me know they were being admitted to the hospital. M.’s sister provided me with updates throughout the day since M. was too busy – you know being in labor – to send me updates from her phone. Finally at 4:34 PM baby A. arrived! She was 8 lbs, 7 oz, and 22 inches long. I’m happy to report that her and momma are doing well and will be headed home tomorrow!
I’m am so overwhelmingly happy for M., her husband, and her family. She has been along for the ride on my infertility rollercoaster, so I wanted to be nothing but supportive towards her and her pregnancy. Am I a little jealous? I’m not going to lie and say that I’m not, but I’m truly happy for her.
M. and I have been friends since the first day of high school way back in 1996 – Over 15 years of friendship! Insane! She’s been there for me through thick and thin; good times and bad times. We’ve had crazy adventures together, have been in each other’s weddings, and now she’s entering a new stage in her life – motherhood. Even though I can’t join her in that stage (yet), I’ll be there to support her through it. I already love baby girl and can’t wait to meet her in just a few weeks. Congratulations M and welcome to the world baby A! Aunt Lauren loves you already!

(M. and I at my wedding – December 2006)

(M.’s wedding – November 2008)

(With the husbands – Christmas 2009)

(M.’s baby shower – September 2011)

(Baby A.!)
Leave a Reply

