A Christmas Quiz

(Christmas 2010)

While catching up on my blog reading this weekend, I came across a Christmas quiz on the Annoyed Army Wife’s blog. Since I’m still not in blogging mode, I thought this would be a fun little quiz to do to get into the holiday spirit.

Egg Nog or Hot Chocolate? I had a sip of Egg Nog back when I was in college and thought it was absolutely disgusting. However, Lauren = choco-holic, so I’m definitely voting for hot chocolate. My absolute favorite hot chocolate drink is a nonfat hot chocolate from S.tarbucks. In a red cup, please!
Colored lights on tree/house or white? While I absolutely LOVE white lights on a tree, my faux tree has colored lights. When I bought my tree a few years ago, I waited too long and there were only colored lighted trees left in stock. Christmas fail. Next year, I plan on buying a real tree and stringing beautiful, clean, white lights all around it. I can’t wait.
Do you hang mistletoe? No, but my mom hangs a fake mistletoe ball in one of the living room doorways each year. I think it looks horrendous. I’d never spring for the real stuff either because the dogs would probably think it was safe to eat. Wrong.
When do you put your decorations up? I typically decorate the weekend after Thanksgiving. This year is different though since E is deployed. I limited myself to one tote of Christmas decorations since I won’t be around for the holidays. The only things I have up are a wreath for the front door, some garland, and a few mantle decorations.
What is your favorite holiday dish? I have a slight obsession with turkey and my mom makes it every year for Thanksgiving, as well as Christmas. So turkey and this creamed corn casserole that my mother-in-law makes. So many calories, but oh so good.
Favorite holiday memory as a child? When I first walked down into the living room on Christmas morning and saw all of the presents waiting for my brother and I under the Christmas tree. My parents didn’t have grand and lavish Christmases when they were younger, so they always went all out for us when we were younger. There were literally mountains of presents, all beautifully wrapped. Just seeing all of the packages sitting under the lit Christmas tree was breathtaking. I can’t wait to create a beautiful, welcoming scene like that for our own children someday.
When and how did you learn the truth about Santa? I want to say I was probably about 8 or 9 when I found that my parents were really Santa. My brother and I were snooping around one day and found the stash of Christmas gifts in my dad’s closet. Half of the presents were marked “From Santa”. Oops.
Do you open a gift on Christmas Eve? No, that wasn’t part of our family tradition. However, when we have children, I would like to give them cute Christmas pajamas to open up that they can wear to bed and wear in the morning while opening their presents.
How do you decorate your Christmas tree? The tree is pre-lit, so I just have to put up the ornaments. Last year, I kept it pretty simple. Put up a few balls, my D.isney ornaments, and my ornament to honor our angel babies.
Snow! Love it or dread it? I loved it as a child, but dread it now. I particularly dread it since we live down South where the town practically shuts down at the mention of a flurry. Please stay away this year, snow!
Do you remember your favorite gift? I’ve always been a huge fan of books for as long as I can remember. When I was 10, I got a giant box of books – The Babysitters Club books. Best present hands down.
What is your favorite holiday dessert? My mom’s butter cookies and my white chocolate and almond bark.
What is your favorite holiday tradition? When I was younger, my favorite tradition was decorating the tree on Christmas Eve. Now, it’s exchanging gifts with E before we head home for the holidays.
Candy Canes: Yuck or yum? Yuck, unless they’re the kind that aren’t peppermint flavored. I got a hold of some cherry flavored ones last year that were pretty awesome.
Favorite Christmas movie? Definitely “A Christmas Story”! I can’t wait for the TBS 24 hour marathon starting on Christmas Eve.
Saddest Christmas song? “I’ll Be Home For Christmas” – It was written about soldiers who couldn’t be with their families during the holidays. I’m sad that E and many other soldiers will be away from their families this holiday season.
What is your favorite Christmas song? I really loved singing “Away In a Manager” and “Silent Night” when I was in the children’s choir.
6 thoughts on “A Christmas Quiz

  1. Jen

    I think giving pajamas on Christmas Eve is the best! For the last few years I have done this for my niece and now for my nephew. So fun! 🙂

    Reply
  2. Brittany

    New pajama's were the only gift we were allowed to open on Christmas Eve. We always knew it was coming but were always still so excited. I can't wait to continue that tradition as well.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

