Christmas Recap

Hey bloggies!

It’s been a crazy few weeks. I just got back from a 10 day trip to Pennsylvania yesterday and I’m happy to be home!
First, I spent 2 glorious days with my best friend, her husband, and baby A! I’m so in love with this little girl. I got to spend some quiet, cuddle time with her while mom and dad got a little extra sleep. I changed diapers, made bottles, fed her bottles, and burped her like a pro. All of my nannying/daycare experiences definitely helped me insert myself into their routine. She’s such a happy little baby and I’m so glad that I got to meet her. BFF and I also got to cook, bake, and chat together. We made 4 types of Christmas cookies (including these lemon ricotta cookies, which were AMAZING), eggnog waffles, and chicken and pasta with cream sauce. I think I gained my 3 pounds back that I had lost before going home.
(Baby burrito. This is before she “hulked” out of the swaddler.)
(Such a sleepy girl!)
(Check out my awesome Santa onesie from Aunt Lauren!)
(BFF and I. Love this picture!)
After hanging out with BFF and family, I made my way back down to my parents’ house for the next 3 days. I met up with a friend to check out bridesmaid dresses for her upcoming wedding in July. I need to get over to Da.vid’s B.ridal to order mine in the next few weeks.
The parents and I went to Christmas Eve mass. Unfortunately, they decided to go to the children’s mass, which was kind of difficult for me to sit through. So many pregnant bellies, adorable babies, laughing children, and happy families. Thankfully, I made it through without crying, even though it was hard at times. After dinner, I got to watch “A Christmas Story”, which is my Christmas Eve tradition. Love it!
Christmas morning was nice and relaxing. My parents got me an awesome N.orth Face jacket, a leg lamp ornament, a few gift cards, and some kitchen goodies. After indulging in our Christmas feast, we headed over to my aunt’s house. I haven’t seen my extended family since our wedding 5 years ago. I was warned a few days prior that my one cousin announced to everyone at Thanksgiving that she just found out that her and her husband were expecting. Thankfully, her and her husband spent the night at her husband’s family’s house. On the other hand, one aunt did ask, “So when are you and E having kids”. With no expression in my face, I replied, “We’ve been trying for almost 4 years”. Yes, that shut her up. No, I didn’t feel bad about it.
(Christmas tree #1)
(My awesome jacket. Excuse the PJ pants.)

(Someone looks bored)

(Leg lamp ornament! This will be the first one that goes up next year.)

(Murph-man with his new toy, which he promptly destroyed in 10 minutes.)
The next day, I headed up to E’s parents’ house for a few days. My father-in-law’s birthday was on Monday, so we cooked a Mexican fiesta for dinner. We made some awesome homemade guacamole, black bean and chicken enchiladas, and fried ice cream. The fried ice cream was a disaster, but everything else turned out perfectly. Next, we opened Christmas and birthday presents. My in-laws gave me some bakeware and a beautiful piece of artwork that I was admiring when visiting an art gallery in DC earlier this year. My little sister-in-law also painted cute pictures frames for E and I.
(Christmas tree #2)
(Awesome print)
(Hey Bella!)
I also had the opportunity to hang out with one of my college roommates, H and another friend K. I had a great time chatting and catching up with these ladies. I wish we lived closer so I could see my friends more than once a year. I also wish I had taken some more pictures. I always bring the camera along, but forget to take it out.
While Christmas was fun, I do hope that next year we have our own child to share it with. I felt like there was something missing as I celebrated with family and friends. I hope everyone had a great time with your family and friends this holiday season.
6 thoughts on “Christmas Recap

  1. Robyn :)

    The response to your aunt was perfect. It's nobody's business, anyway. I don't mind people asking me if I have kids, but when they start asking when I plan to or why I don't, that is when I start getting peeved.

    Reply
  2. Jen

    Good for you with your answer to your Aunt! I have had to answer that question so many times as well and it gets more frustrating each time. I am glad you had a good visit with family and friends for Christmas.

    Reply
  3. JustHeather

    Good for you and your response! I started being more open and outright with my answers about a year ago. While some people just don't know how to respond, many people only get more concerned and ask questions. Or, there are also the few that immediately ask you about adoption. Ugh!Great to her your xmas was great. Happy New Year!

    Reply
  4. JM

    Dr Boy's favorite holiday movis is Christmas Story- we watch it while decorating the tree or wrapping presents each year. My mom joined us this time (since we did it between retrieval and transfer) and she got him the same ornament 🙂 Love it!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

