HSG Results

I decided to give Dr. P’s office a call yesterday afternoon because it had been 3 days since the HSG from hell. I was anxious to find out if anything suspicious popped on the x-rays. Of course when I called, it went straight to voicemail. In the last 13 months, I don’t think anyone has actually picked up the phone because they’re just so busy. Not a problem though. I just figured I would receive a call back on Monday.

Much to my surprise, the phone rang a few hours later and they had my test results. It turns out that everything was all clear. I told the nurse that I would probably be calling them back in about 2 weeks so we could talk about the med combo we’ll be using for IUI #5. I believe we’ll be sticking with the G.onal-F, but also adding M.enopur into the mix. I refuse to stim again for over 3 weeks. I had hoped that E would be home in time for the injections to begin since I heard that M.enopur stings and burns, but unfortunately his return date has been pushed back. Again. That’s a whole different story to be addressed at a different time. Maybe.
More good news is that my side effects from the allergic reaction to the iodine have finally gone away. I had to take B.enadryl several times a day for the past few days because of overall itchiness. I think I’m back to normal now.
So I’ve heard that some women are able to get pregnant the cycle of or the cycle after an HSG. Has anyone else heard/read about this? Maybe the same will be true for us? This is our last chance at having a 2012 baby and more importantly, having a baby before I turn the big 3-0 in December. If this IUI fails, then if we are lucky enough to get pregnant on IVF #1, the baby wouldn’t be due until the beginning of 2013. I want this last IUI to work for so many reasons. Please let it work.
10 thoughts on “HSG Results

  1. Poekitten

    My dr. told me when I had my HSG that it's common for women to get pregnant after having an HSG cause if there was any minor blockage it's now been cleaned out. My experience…yes. We got pregnant the first cycle we tried (2nd one after HSG) after the HSG. Praying you get a BFP!

    Reply
  2. Megan

    Yay for an all clear HSG! I was scared to death of the Menopur but it's really not so bad. It burns, yes. It only lasts a few seconds though and then you'll be fine. Good luck and I'm sorry your husband's return date has been pushed back. That's no fun at all! 😦 Been there.

    Reply
  3. JM

    My MIL swears the HSG she had 35 years ago got her pregnant with DH (EEEEEWWWW). I think it's mainly because it can get rid of any gunk hanging out in your tubes.Here's hoping this does the trick 🙂

    Reply
  4. Brittany Williams

    There is nothing wrong with having your baby after you are 30 or older my mom was 32 when she had my little brother. Everything turned out fine (which is a miricle cause my mom has had two miscarriages when she was in her 20s). But I wish you the best of luck in getting pregnant soon. 🙂

    Reply
  5. Bel

    I've heard about that! I have heard the same after the saline sono though. I have wondered if it was just lucky timing or if somehow the test cleans something out to give things a fresh start (maybe?). If I have learned anything it's that anything is possible 🙂 I hope you get your BFP and don't need to do IVF at all!! FX!!

    Reply
  6. Rebecca

    I wish you the best of luck on getting pregnant soon. I love homecomings from the deployments.Tomorrow we are doing our egg retrieval. Luckily my husband has been home for the shots. The menopur does burn a bit just do the injection slowly, count to ten before removing the needle from the skin and it won't bruise as much.

    Reply
  7. JustHeather

    I've heard the same about the first cycle(s) after an HSG, but can't think of anyone specifically it worked for.Menopur did sting, but not too bad. It stung immediately after for a short bit and then it was just a bit itchy-sore. Rub it a bit and all it good.Good luck!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

