Our Love Story

In honor of Valentine’s Day, I thought I would go ahead and fill out this love story survey that I’ve seen floating around on quite a few blogs.

1. How long have you and your significant other been together?
I met E back in the spring of 2001, but he was still enlisted in the Army. We didn’t start officially dating until 2003. We’ve been together for almost 9 years, but have known each other for almost 11!
2. How did you meet? (What’s your “love” story?)
E and I first met during my second semester of college. I was hanging out with a few girlfriends and one of my comm major friends had asked if it was alright to bring over his best friend from high school to hang out with us. My friends and I had been drinking for awhile at that point (yes, we were doing some dorm drinking), so I was feeling unusually social by the time my friend and E had arrived. My friend introduced E to all of us and told us that he was home on leave from the Army for his birthday.
I don’t know that I would say it was love at first sight, but it was definitely a strong like at first sight. The alcohol gave me the courage to strike up a conversation with E and we talked and hung out all night. After he left, I figured that I probably wouldn’t see him again since he was headed back to NC in a few days. Much to my surprise, I received a phone call from him the next day. He had asked my friend for my dorm phone number. We ended up going out for dinner and then headed back to my dorm room to watch a movie.
E headed back to NC a few days later, but we kept in contact through email and AIM (ha, again this was back in 2001). He deployed twice – first to Kosovo and then to Okinawa, so we didn’t see each other in person for quite awhile. When he returned home from his second deployment, I found out he decided to enroll in the Green to Gold program and he would be attending my college. We started officially dating in 2003 and the rest is history.
3. If married, how long have you been married?

We got married on December 16, 2006. We’ve been married for a little over 5 years now.
4. If you are married, where did you get married at? Big or small wedding?
We got married in E’s church in Lancaster, PA. Our wedding wasn’t big, but it wasn’t exactly small either. We had about 115 guests at the wedding, even though our original guest list only included about 80 people. Then the mothers got a hold of the guest list. All hell broke loose. That’s another story for another time.
5. Do you have any nicknames that you call one another?
Nope, no nicknames.
6. Name 3 things you love most about your honey?
He’s funny and knows how to make me smile even when I’m having the worst day. He’s determine and motivated. He’s athletic – I wish I had half the stamina that he does.
7. Tell us how he proposed?
Yah our proposal story isn’t very long or really romantic at all. We had been dating for about 3 years at that point, so we had talked extensively about marriage. I picked out my ring, but E told me that it had to be ordered because the store didn’t have it in my size. I came home the next night after work and started making dinner. When I turned around to put dinner on the table, the ring box was sitting in the middle of my dinner plate. E asked me to marry him and of course I said yes!
8. Is he a flowers and teddy bear kind of guy for v-day, or strawberries, champagne, and rose petals?
He’s neither. We usually go out to see a movie and have dinner a few days before Valentine’s Day because we won’t like dealing with crowds. We actually had our date night this past Saturday. We saw “The Descendants” (I loved it, he hated it) and then enjoyed a wonderful Italian dinner.
9. Are you a sunset dinner on the beach kind of girl, or pop a movie in and relax on the couch?
Most definitely a pop a movie in and relax on the couch kind of girl. I like to keep things simple.
10. Tell us one thing you’d like to do with your significant other one day. If you could do anything? Go anywhere?
There are so many places that E and I would still love to travel to. Even though we’ve been to Paris before, I would LOVE to go back. We’d also love to see England, Ireland, Hawaii, and Australia.

11. Tell us what you plan on doing this Valentine’s Day.
Since we already celebrated with our dinner and movie date, I’ll just cook here at home. I’m planning on making pasta primavera and a special dessert.
12. Are you asking for anything this Valentine’s Day?
I actually asked for the box set of Harry Potter movies. Yes, I’m aware of my nerdiness.
13. Give us one piece of advice to keep a relationship strong and full of love.
Keep the lines of communication open. If you can’t or aren’t willing to communicate, how are you going to work through problems?
14. Show us a picture of what love means to you.
6 thoughts on “Our Love Story

  1. JustHeather

    Yay for HP! I've not read the books yet and only seen a few of the movies. I might not be HP-nerdy, but I've got it for other things. ;)Sounds like you've got a keeper!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

