IVF #1 is underway

Source: google.ae via Justine on Pinterest

The title says it all. IVF #1 has begun. Yesterday I met with Nurse D and the other ladies on my IVF cycle to discuss the whole process and receive a majority of the meds that will be used over the next few weeks. Holy meds is all I can say. On Monday, I will be starting a microdose L.upron flare protocol.

I took my last birth control pill yesterday. There will be no pills or shots until Monday morning. On Monday, I start twice daily injections of the microdose L.upron. On Tuesday, I will add in twice daily injections of G.onal-F and M.enopur. Thankfully, I can mix all three drugs together, which means only two shots a day as opposed to six.

I’ll continue on with the shots until the following Monday when I go in for my first round of bloodwork and an ultrasound. I believe I’ll be going in every morning until my retrieval due to the fact that I’ve experienced overstimulation before. They went to keep an extra close eye on my oves and hormone levels.

Assuming everything goes according to schedule, my tentative ER date is scheduled for Saturday, May 5 and my transfer will be scheduled for Tuesday, May 8. After retrieval, I’ll start a variety of other medications. I’ll add in three doses of E.ndometrin a day, will start taking a to be determined antibiotic (I’m allergic to so many, so this will be a challenge for my RE) to prevent infection, and M.edrol and baby aspirin to hopefully assist with implantation. The night before the transfer, I’ll be instructed to take two V.aliums to relax the uterus and will take another one the morning of the transfer.

My RE’s office requires patients to come in for two pregnancy tests just in case of late implantation. This might be a stab to the heart if this doesn’t work, but I understand their reasoning behind it. My first beta is tentatively scheduled for May 17 and the follow up will be on May 21.

I’m a mess of emotions right now. Scared, excited, nervous, and anxious. I’m mentally ready for the injections but am still a little intimidated by the ER. Nurse D put my mind at ease (just a little bit) when she discussed the ER in detail yesterday. She said we would only be sedated for about 20 minutes and she would be there the entire time. Much different from my D&C experience when I was thrown in a room with people I didn’t know. This resulted in a panic attack and a mad rush to find E.

It’s hard to believe that in just a few short weeks, this will all be over with and I’ll hopefully be typing up a positive pregnancy test post.

5 thoughts on “IVF #1 is underway

  1. Megan

    I'm so glad you're getting this going! I know it's overwhelming and scary–just keep your eye on the prize. 🙂 I wish you nothing but the best of luck.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

