IVF #1 – An Update

I’ve been trying to find time to write an update this week, but between student teaching and doing work for my seminar class, I haven’t had any free time. Since I’m currently procrastinating on writing lesson plans for next week, I thought this would be a good opportunity to write some things down about the past week.

On Monday, I started twice daily injections of microdose L.upron. I had hoped that the headaches wouldn’t show up, but they did. In full force. At one point, I thought my head was going to explode. In addition to the headaches, I also developed a pretty nasty cold (Thanks sick students) and experienced some heart palpitations. Thankfully, I haven’t experienced the palpitations again, so I guess it was just a fluke.

On Tuesday morning, I added in twice daily injections of G.onal and M.enopur. I thought mixing all three meds together would be tricky, but I have it down to a six minute routine. Since my monitoring appointments will be at 6:00 AM for the next week, I get up at 5:20 to prepare my injection. It’s been a very sleepless week and I’m sure next week will be the same.

This Monday, I go in for my first monitoring appointment to find out how the follies are growing and to find out what my E2 levels are. I don’t really feel anything at this point, but hopefully good things are going on in there. If things are progressing slowly, I assume they may bump up my dosage. I hope to stay on track for a next Saturday ER so I only have to miss one day of school for the ET. I know I should probably miss more days, but my cooperating teacher knows that I have to take it easy and I will be sitting for the majority of the day.

I called the IVF clinic yesterday afternoon and paid for all the services for the ER. We’ll also be doing ICSI and hopefully freezing some embryos, but that will be all paid for next week. It was scary to see all of that money going away, but hopefully it’ll be worth it in the end. No, it will be worth it in the end. This will work.

Hopefully, I can jump on Monday or Tuesday to give you all an update on my appointment. Hopefully things are progressing well and we have lots of follies growing!

2 thoughts on “IVF #1 – An Update

  1. Rebecca

    Hopefully it works. If for some reason it gets cancelled or you don't have embryos to freeze ask about the refund policy. I'm praying you get some good E2 numbers.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

