Mother’s Day

Mother’s Day – probably one of the worst holidays ever created for an infertile woman/couple. Over the past few weeks, the stores have been littered with Mother’s Day present and card displays. Every other commercial seems to be geared towards celebrating Mother’s Day. Hell, even the news this morning had story upon story about this dreadful day. At times, I’ve just wanted to sit on the couch and cry because it’s yet another year that we won’t be able to join in the celebrations. 

To all my ladies out there struggling with infertility – I understand how much today sucks. For those who have been blessed with babies, but only to lose them too soon – I understand how much today sucks. We are still mothers even though our children aren’t here with us physically. They’re still in our hearts though and will remain there forever. 
I really hope by the time this day rolls around next year, I’ll be what society deems a “real” mother. I hope that so many of you who are struggling with infertility and loss can say the same also. 
To my mommy friends – I wish a Happy Mother’s Day to you too – I may be jealous of what you have, but I appreciate you and think you’re the luckiest women in the world. Give your children big hugs today and be thankful that you have someone to call you mom. 
I also wanted to end this post with a poem I found over at Megan’s blog. I think it sums up today very well.  
“Happy Mother’s Day”
It comes around every year;
but when you have empty arms,
it’s very hard to hear.
It’s a day to celebrate a mother,
for all the trials she overcame;
and a reminder to an infertile
of her loneliness and shame.
But what really makes a mother,
Is it just conception and birth?
Or is there something more,
that shows a mother’s worth?
It’s putting your child first,
in everything you do;
it’s sacrifice and determination,
and love and patience too.
An infertile woman makes all her plans,
around a child not yet conceived;
she loves them even though they aren’t here,
more than she ever could have believed.
She appreciates and understands,
what a blessing that children are;
she works hard for just a chance,
that motherhood is not that far.
All odds are stacked against her,
and yet she still has hope;
everyday is another struggle,
finding ways to help her cope.
So even though her arms are empty,
she can still be a mother too;
So say a special “Happy Mother’s Day”
for those waiting for their dreams to come true!
4 thoughts on “Mother’s Day

  1. Allison

    I am so glad I found this post! I was beginning to think that I was the only one who felt this way. I'm glad to know I'm not alone in my thinking. We are both mothers already but we don't have the joy of having our children here with us right now.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

