Graduation, A Mini-Vacation, and Some Other News

I am really slacking on the blog posts lately. I think it’s a combination of no motivation and still feeling depressed about our IVF cycle. Lots of things have happened in the past two weeks – I finally graduated with my Master’s degree and E and I went on a mini-vacation to his family’s lake house for three days. While we were away, we came to a big and important decision, but more on that later.

First off – graduation.

I have been working towards my teaching certification in elementary education ever since we were stationed in Georgia in 2008. Finally my hard work has paid off and I finally have my degree and am working on completing my paperwork to be officially certified to teach K-6. I’m happy to report that I graduated with a 4.0 and couldn’t be prouder of my accomplishments.

Last Friday morning, E, my parents, and I headed down to the city to attend a brunch hosted by the School of Education. I wish I could have taken some pictures of all of the food because the spread was amazing – french toast, eggs, bagels, pancakes, bacon, hash browns, and so much more. We all took advantage of the free food since we all knew that it was going to be a very long day. After the brunch, we took a walk around the campus since I never actually took classes there. We picked up some free gifts being given out to the online students and took some pictures. I was instructed to report to the gym by 12:30, so off I went. The ceremony didn’t start until 1:30, but thankfully I found some girls I had classes with and we chatted while we waited. It was so nice to actually put some faces to the names that I had seen over the past year and a half.

At 1:30, we started the procession into the main part of the gym. Let me tell you – the place was packed! It was hot and crowded but I was still excited. The ceremony moved quickly but it took over 2 hours for all of the names to be called. I’m happy to report that I did NOT trip (I can’t say the same for my high school and undergraduate graduations).

After the graduation ceremony, we headed back to my parents’ house for a party for E and I (E also graduated with his Master’s degree in Intelligence Studies – Go E). My aunts and uncles came as well as my best friend and another great friend from high school. I loved having time to sit around, catch up with friends, and eat some darn good cake.

The next day, E headed back downtown to run a marathon. I decided to head down later in the day because there was no way I was standing around in the heat for over 3 hours. E finished the race in 3 hours and 42 minutes and received a third place award within his age group. This race was in preparation for an Iron.man triathlon that he will be participating in in a few short months (crazy, crazy man).

On Sunday, we said adios to the parents and headed up to E’s family’s lake house. We spent the next three days canoeing, hiking, running, reading, and relaxing. It was nice to step away from the laptop and homework and just focus on relaxing. The dogs had a great time being outside for a majority of the day and exploring the water and the dirt roads.

While we were hanging out, we discussed our next steps in regards to expanding our family. We will still proceed with our FET in mid-August; however, we are now actively pursuing adoption. This option was always on the back burner, but it’s now becoming our new reality. We agreed awhile back that we would only be doing one fresh IVF cycle and then go forward with FET if we were so lucky to have any embryos to freeze (we have 6).

We want to get the ball rolling because I’m not very confident that FET will be successful and because we will be moving in less than a year. We’re both very excited and currently we’re looking at agencies. If anyone has any suggestions or advice for a military family pursuing domestic infant adoption, please, please leave a comment or shoot me an email. The process is a bit overwhelming, but we are looking forward to what the future holds for us and for our family.

8 thoughts on “Graduation, A Mini-Vacation, and Some Other News

  1. H.

    Have you checked out the Dave Thomas foundation. We were able to get a lot of information from them regarding adoptions. We got put in touch with some great agencies that helped us explore that possibility.

    Reply
  2. Rebecca

    Congratulations on your graduation. J and I have been chatting about donor eggs and adoption. We'll be moving here eventually too, less than a year to go. Not sure of your religious beliefs but my parents did adoption through Catholic Charities.

    Reply
  3. Michelle

    Congrats on your graduation (and not tripping)!!! I don't have any advice or anything, although I do have 2 friends who adopted through American Adoptions who were very pleased with that agency.

    Reply
  4. lparsons15

    Congrats to both you and E on your graduations! Such and amazing accomplishment you have with a 4.0! I wish you both the best in regards to the adoption as well, exciting things for you guys!

    Reply
  5. Kelly

    Congrats on the graduation. Had I known you were in the area, I would have made the trip to see you!! I think adoption is a great thing. It doesn't mean you still can't try on your own … although I am praying that the next IVF works!

    Reply
  6. Brittany

    I'm so proud of you, lady! You are amazing and such a huge accomplishment! You totally deserve to be proud of all that you have done! I'm excited for you about your choice to persue adoption but I know how overwhelming it is for you & E. My fingers are crossed that all goes smoothly and you know I am here for whatever you need! Love you lady!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

