What Now?

As you all know, our FET cycle failed and there are no embryos left. Where do we go from here?

E and I met with Dr. P. last Monday for a follow-up meeting. My biggest question that we had was regarding egg quality. Dr. P. doesn’t believe that there is an egg quality issue at all especially since 9 out of our 11 eggs fertilized during our IVF cycle. 
All of the tests that could be done, have been done already. 
The next IVF cycle isn’t scheduled until January. 
Our decisions now include: whether or not to go forward with another IVF cycle, whether or not we should try any other treatments while we’re waiting on said IVF cycle, and whether or not to just stop treatments and continue pursuing adoption. 
Right now, I’m at the point where I’m not ready to give up on having our own biological children. I know I said that we would only do one IVF cycle, but the thought of giving up right now hurts so much. We’re on the list for the January cycle, even though we do have the chance to change our minds if we choose to. 
We talked about doing one or two more injectible cycles before preparing for IVF. I don’t know if we’ll go down the IUI route or just do it the old-fashioned way with the help of my good friends, G.onal-F, M.enopur, and a trigger shot. Dr. P. asked if we wanted to do a medicated cycle this month, but I declined. I don’t think my heart is ready for another potential failure at this point. 
Since E is away for work for half of October, we probably won’t have an opportunity to do another cycle until the end of October/beginning of November. I guess we’ll just have to wait and see where we both are emotionally and mentally when the time comes. 
3 thoughts on “What Now?

  1. Cassidy

    Lauren,I've been following for a bit under the radar, and I completely understand what you're going through as to wanting you're own bio-babies. My husband doesn't want more [he has a 16 yo already by previous marriage] but I want one with him. He said 'if it happens, it happens.' I'm doing EVERYTHING possible to prep my body for pregnancy with 2 mc's under my belt. If you don't mind, when did you know you were having fertility issues? I'm doing everything from eating healthy, exercising, healthy vitamins, etc etc. and I mean EVERYTHING. I have my first fertility appt next week so I'm a bit nervous. Maybe I can pass somethings to you and vise versa. Take care.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

