Thankful

While this year has not panned out quite the way that I would have liked it to, there are still so many things in my life that I am thankful for.

  • First and foremost, I’m thankful for E. He’s my husband, best friend, and biggest supporter. We’ve had our ups and downs just like any other couple, but I love him with all my heart. I can’t believe that in less than a month, we’ll be celebrating our 6th anniversary. 
  • Bella and Murphy. Our dogs have kept me company through a year-long deployment. They’re my constant companions. They love us unconditionally and provide much laughter and love in this household. 
  • My friends – near and far – new and old – those that I’ve met and those that I’ve only “met” online – I don’t know where I would be without all the support and love that I have received especially as we navigate through all of these fertility treatments and continue to experience heartbreak and failure. Everyone has been so supportive and offered encouragement in so many different ways. I appreciate and love every single one of you. 
  • My education and my job – I was so happy to finally finish my Master’s degree program this past June and receive my teaching certification after embarking on my educational journey almost 3 years ago. While I don’t have a full-time position at the moment, I’m thankful that I get to work with different groups of students and teach them even if it’s just for a short time. I’ve been learning about different teaching styles and finding out what works and doesn’t work with students. I’m gathering so much information to hopefully use in my own classroom someday. 

Also, I know there are so many of you out there who are just like me. Dreading spending another holiday as a childless couple. It sucks. Completely sucks. I hope that we’re all spending the holidays next year with the babies that we’ve been trying, hoping, and praying for so hard. It’s so easy to give up, but keep fighting for what you want and deserve. We WILL be mothers and fathers someday. Someday sooner rather than later I hope.

5 thoughts on “Thankful

  1. Cassidy

    I completely feel you on this one. We have our little dog but it's not the same. I'm praying for you and E, as well as my husband and myself. You will have your bio-baby. You're in my thoughts.

    Reply
  2. Annie Mously

    I'm visiting via Walkabout Wednesdays. It's definitely tough to be a childless couples around the holidays,but it sounds like you have so much to be thankful for and that you have so many other blessings right now :)I hope you have a wonderful holiday!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

