My 400th Post!

It’s hard to believe that I’ve finally reached my 400th post!

This blog has been my outlet for infertility and loss-related stress and has connected me with some amazing women over the past 2 and a half years. It has also been a place for me to document various life events and share those events with my wonderful readers. 

It seems appropriate that half of this blog post will be about another important milestone in my life – my 30th birthday. 

But first – a little about Thanksgiving. 

I had the opportunity to host Thanksgiving at our house this year. Since my friend Brittany welcomed me into her home last year when E was deployed, I hoped to return the favor this year. In addition to hosting Brittany and her family, we also hosted E’s new co-worker and his wife who recently PCS’ed from Germany. 

While I was overly-stressed out about the cooking and making sure that the house was clean and perfect, the day ended up being wonderful. It was full of good food, football, and most importantly good family and friends. 

I was happy that Brittany offered to help prepare some side dishes because I was overwhelmed with cooking my first full-size turkey for the first time ever. Every other year, I made a turkey breast, which is simple to make. I’m happy to report that the turkey was moist and absolutely delicious. In addition to the turkey, we also had: mashed sweet potatoes, spinach and feta stuffing, creamed corn, spinach and cranberry salad, dinner rolls, and oatmeal apple walnut crunch pie. It was quite the feast! 

 (Prepping the turkey)
 (Family photo-op)
 (One of the cutest kiddos ever!)
 (Our dinner guests)
(The feast!)

After Thanksgiving, I began a long-term sub job in a first grade classroom. The days remaining before my 30th birthday seemed to fly by because I was spending 8 hour days in the classroom. So far, it’s been a great experience. The teacher left great lesson plans and all the materials I would need for the 11 days in the classroom. The kids are fantastic and so smart. I truly love going into work everyday. It’s also a plus that I’m finally receiving long-term sub pay for this assignment. A little extra money never hurts especially with another IVF cycle looming in the not-so-distant future. 

My 30th birthday was this past Thursday. It’s hard to believe that I’ve come up on this milestone so quickly. It feels like I was just 21 and a senior in college. Where did the time go? While a lot of wonderful things happened in my twenties, it was also filled with disappointments and loss. I’m hoping that the good things will outweigh the bad in this new decade of life. Maybe by my 31st birthday, we’ll be celebrating with our miracle baby? 

You may be thinking (or maybe not) – what did Lauren do for her birthday? Well – I worked until about 3:30 and then hightailed it off-post to do some cleaning for my cookie swap that I was going to be hosting (happened today – will write a separate post about it). E came home around 6:30 and we decided to pick up hoagies since I wasn’t in the mood to cook and we had plans to go out for a nice dinner the next night. After our dinner, E surprised me with the most delicious looking cake ever from a local bakery. Chocolate peanut butter cup! That man knows me too well. After having a slice of cake, we moved onto presents. 

 (Chocolate peanut butter cup cake)
(Thanks, E!)

I was a sneak earlier in November and had found out that E had bought me a frame for my master’s degree diploma. While it was a perfectly nice present, I was a little disappointed that he didn’t get me something that I’ve been dropping hints about for the past, oh I don’t know, 4 months. I got him to confess what he got me and hinted that he should save the frame for a later date (our anniversary as well as Christmas is coming up later in the month) and maybe find something different. Horrible, I know. 

 (This sure looks like a box for a big frame)

Well I was shocked when I saw my present sitting up against the wall. It was the frame box. Lo and behold, when I opened the present, I found an iP.ad sitting in the box instead of the frame! I’m so excited and thankful for a wonderful present! I’m waiting to get a cover before I use it because I’m clumsy and don’t want to damage it. I’ve been checking out some E.tsy shops for sleeves. So many cute options. 

 (I was wrong!)
(Best. present. ever.)

Last night capped off my birthday. E and I met up with my two friends, the aforementioned Brittany and my other good friend Lauren, and their husbands for dinner. I saved up my calories for dinner and enjoyed a fabulous cheeseburger with garlic mashed potatoes. I’m so thankful to have such amazing friends! I hope that I can come back and meet up with them for my birthday next year. Where we’re going isn’t too far away. 

(Great dinner with great friends!)

While I was depressed about turning 30, it’s not so bad so far. I am only 2 days into this 30th year though. I guess we’ll have to wait and see what this year brings us. 
6 thoughts on “My 400th Post!

Leave a Reply

