IVF 2.0

Hey all! I promised another blog post this week, so here it is šŸ™‚

E and I are gearing up for our second and last IVF cycle, which starts next week. Ever since our last injectibles cycle failed in November, I’ve been sitting on birth control to keep everything quiet and suppressed. There wasn’t much going on in December other than actually deciding to give IVF one more try.

On January 9th, I went in for a blood draw and a baseline ultrasound to make sure that the birth control was doing it’s job. The ultrasound went great. Lining was thin, no cysts, no problems. Unfortunately, the same couldn’t be said for my blood work. My TSH (thyroid) levels came back elevated. The levels jumped from a 3.25 in November to a 3.35. I’m going to go ahead and say that this was partially my own fault; not my body’s. After our failed FET in August, I got fed up with taking all my medications, so I stopped the thyroid medication for awhile. When my levels were re-checked, I was put back on the medication, but opted to only take it every other day since I was having some random chest pains. Guess the every other day routine wasn’t cutting it. My RE is weening me up to 75mcg a day – up from 25mcg a day. I’m currently taking 50mcg and will be bumping it up to my full dosage on Monday. Fingers crossed that my levels get in check after the dosage increases.

So moving on from the thyroid issue. I went into the clinic this morning for a saline sonogram since my last one was performed over a year ago. Better to be safe than sorry when we’re shelling out a large amount of money, right? Thankfully, everything came back all clear and I got the green light to proceed with this upcoming cycle. My vitamin D levels were also rechecked and I’m still within the normal range.

This cycle, we’re sticking with the microdose L.upron flare protocol (IVF #1’s protocol). There will be one major change though. We’re doubling my G.onal-F dosage. I’ll be doing 2 vials of G.onal and 1 vial of M.enopur every 12 hours. In addition to all that, I’ll be adding in 20 units of L.upron. Thank goodness I can mix all these drugs together so I only have to inject myself twice a day.

As far as my IVF 2.0 calendar goes, here are my tentative important dates:

January 20 – Last BCP
January 23 – First dose of L.upron
January 24 – First day of stims
January 28 – First monitoring appointment
February 4 – ER
February 7 – ET

We’re hoping to stay pretty close to this pre-determined schedule because E will be leaving for training shortly after our ET. It’s not a huge deal if he’s not here for the transfer, but I would prefer him to be here. Also, E has insisted that I take off from work for a week and a half. He’s convinced that I was too stressed out during our first IVF cycle since I was in the middle of student teaching. I see many movies, TV shows, and books in my near future.

I guess that’s the best update that I can give at this point. We’re hoping so hard that this is the cycle that will bring us our miracle baby(ies). If not, then we’ve come to the end of the infertility treatment road.

6 thoughts on “IVF 2.0

  1. JJ

    Thinking and praying for both of you. I like the way your husband thinks — 1.5 weeks off to help the embryos do their implanting! Are you a reader? I'll try to think of some good books to keep you entertained!

    Reply
  2. Danielle

    There was a study done that showed increased implantation rates after ivf in women who laughed a lot following the procedure. In the study they actually brought in clowns but i suggest a bunch of your favorite comedies, lol.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

