It’s Trigger Time!

Yesterday afternoon, E and I headed down to the IVF clinic where retrievals and transfers are performed for another follicle check. We were instructed to arrive at noon, but my scan wasn’t performed until almost 2:00 PM. My RE apologized several times for the long wait. Sure the wait sucked, but I understood that there were a few retrievals and transfers happening. Back-ups happen all the time.

My blood was drawn first and I was sent back into the waiting room until the ultrasound bed opened up. About 45 minutes later, I went back into the same room where my retrieval will take place. Dr. P. measured a bunch of follicles that ranged between 16 and 20 mm. I was told that pending blood work would determine our retrieval date, but to expect a Tuesday afternoon retrieval appointment.

E and I drove to the hospital to drop off my vials and to stop at the pharmacy to pick up my post-retrieval medicines. Holy meds is all I have to say.

I received a call about an hour later. My E2 levels jumped to 1,610. I was instructed to stop stims and to trigger at 1:00 AM for a 1:00 PM retrieval on Tuesday.

Even though E has given me two trigger shots in the past, I was still a nervous wreck. After the Super Bowl wrapped up, I sent E off to bed for awhile. I woke him up around 12:45 AM so he could help me prepare the shot. I relaxed as much as I could and E gave me the shot. No big deal as usual. The anticipation is definitely worse than the actual shot.

I stopped by the clinic this morning for my last blood draw until my beta to ensure that the trigger shot was administered correctly. I should hear back this afternoon about my HCG levels.

I’ve been instructed not to eat or drink anything after midnight tonight. It will be a long day tomorrow and I’m already thinking about what I’d like for dinner tomorrow night. We’re hoping to get at least as many mature eggs as we did last time, which was 11. We’ve opted to do ICSI again, so hopefully our fertilization rate is also as high as it was last time. We’re just hoping and praying for a different end result. We want our positive.

4 thoughts on “It’s Trigger Time!

Leave a Reply

