Trying to Focus on the Positive

If you follow me on Twitter, you know that I’ve been giving 2013 the middle finger for quite some time now. This year has been full of a lot of disappointment, loss, sadness, and illness. Despite all that has gone wrong, there have been things that have gone right. Unfortunately, I’ve let the bad overshadow the good and I’d like to bring those positive experiences into the spotlight before this year is officially over. 

I think the most positive experience of 2013 was attending Advocacy Day in Washington, D.C. this spring. I was able to share my story and make my voice heard. I was able to meet some of my biggest supporters and strengthen relationships in just one short trip. I’m already looking forward to attending Advocacy Day 2014.

Another amazing experience was embarking on our adoption journey. While closing the door on any further treatment was extremely heartbreaking and difficult, I’ve become hopeful again that we will be parents. Every time we check another box off our list, I get a little more excited. Our home study is almost complete and hopefully by this time next year, we’ll be celebrating Christmas with our son or daughter. 

Moving out of a military town and into a college town has also been a highlight of the year. While I love having the support of the military community and miss my NC friends like crazy, it’s been a great 6 months. We live in a town where there are plenty of new things to experience and places to visit. E is earning a second Master’s degree and is non-deployable for a substantial period of time. We’ve enjoyed spending more time together, going on new adventures, and enjoying the beauty that surrounds us every day. 

I truly hope that 2014 is full of positive experiences and happiness not only for myself, but for so many others who also faced their own hardships and difficulties in 2013. I hope to leave some of my feelings of anger, bitterness, and jealously behind and continue to take back control of my life. As always, I hope to finally achieve the goal of becoming a mother. I look forward to reading more and continuing to get back into good physical shape. I look forward to traveling and spending time with my husband and our dogs. I look forward to moving in the spring and finding out what awaits us at our next duty station. I look forward to my sister-in-law’s upcoming wedding. I hope to be more supportive of others and to become more involved in the infertility community. Finally, I look forward to celebrating the achievements and successes of my friends. 

Listen up 2014. You better kick ass for so many of us. And 2013, don’t let the doorknob hit you on the way out. 

 

2 thoughts on “Trying to Focus on the Positive

Leave a Reply

